Author Archives: askeas

Message from the 2016 President of the Governing Board

001497-EAS_600x68-2016_EmailBanner_v1 (2)

“It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.” – J. R. R. Tolkien in The Lord of the Rings Welcome to the 55th Eastern Analytical Symposium and Exposition (EAS).  Our theme this year, “Analytical Chemistry Opens Doors,” was chosen as I mused on the varied career paths that the Governing Board members have taken.  We all have

American Microchemical Society Benedetti-Pichler Award

Merlin Bruening is a Professor of Chemistry at Michigan State University.  He received a B.S. in Chemical Engineering in 1989 and an M.S. in Chemistry in 1990 from Brigham Young University.  In 1995, Dr. Bruening obtained his Ph.D. in Chemistry from the Weizmann Institute of Science in Rohovot, Israel, where he worked under the direction of Abraham Shanzer.  After an NIH Postdoctoral Fellowship at Texas A&M University with Richard Crooks, Merlin joined the faculty at Michigan State University in 1997. 

EAS/CoSMoS Proudly Present – Method Development Olympics!

Are you interested in a challenge?  Would you enjoy designing experiments and competing against other state of the art laboratories developing an analytical method to characterize an unknown sample?  If so, the EAS/CoSMoS Method Development Olympics (MDO) 2016 is the challenge for you!  Judges will evaluate results based on accuracy and amount of ancillary information discovered as well as the creativity of the method development approach. Click here for more details and to submit an application.

2016 New York Section of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy Gold Medal Award

Professor James G. Fujimoto obtained his bachelors, masters, and doctorate from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1979, 1981, and 1984, respectively. His doctoral research was under Prof. Erich Ippen in the area of ultrafast optics. He is currently the Elihu Thomson Professor of Electrical Engineering and on the faculty of the Research Laboratory of Electronics and Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at M.I.T.  His research interests include femtosecond laser technology and biomedical optical imaging. He has co-founded

Rush Holt Biography

EAS is pleased to announce that on the afternoon of November 14, 2016, former Congressman and current AAAS President Dr. Rush Holt will deliver our plenary session address. Rush D. Holt, Ph.D., became the 18th chief executive officer of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and executive publisher of the Science family of journals in February 2015. In this role, Holt leads the world’s largest multi-disciplinary scientific and engineering society. Over his long career, Dr. Holt has

Prof. Janusz Pawliszyn to be 2017 Plenary Speaker

EAS2015-370 Plenary

EAS is pleased to announce that Professor Janusz Pawliszyn, University of Waterloo, will deliver the plenary session address for EAS 2017. Prof. Pawliszyn is the recipient of the 2017 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in the Fields of Analytical Chemistry.  The plenary lecture will take place after the awards presentation. (click here for full biography)  Join us to hear Prof. Pawliszyn’s lecture titled “Think Big but Design Small, a Path to Modern Analytical Chemistry” Monday, November 13, 2017, 4:30 pmCrowne Plaza Princeton Conference Center The lecture will

2016 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in the Fields of Analytical Chemistry

Purnendu Dasgupta is presently Hamish Small Chair of Ion Analysis in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry and an adjunct Professor in the Department of Physics at the University of Texas at Arlington. A native of India, he received his BSc degree from Bankura Christian College (an institution established by Wesleyan missionaries in 1903) in 1968 with honors in Chemistry and MSc degree in Inorganic Chemistry from the University of Burdwan in 1970, both in West Bengal, India. After a

2016 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievement in Separation Science

Luis A. Colón earned the B.Sc. degree in chemistry from the University of Puerto Rico (UPR) at Cayey. He worked in the pharmaceutical industry as Senior Chemist for a few years before starting graduate school in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Massachusetts-Lowell in 1987. He completed his Ph.D. degree in 1991 under the direction of Professor Eugene F. Barry. His dissertation work concentrated on the development of plasma emission detection schemes for liquid chromatography. From 1991 to

2016 EAS Young Investigator Award

Lili He is Assistant Professor of Food Science at University of Massachusetts, Amherst. She received her PhD degree from University of Missouri-Columbia in 2009 and did her postdoc training in University of Minnesota between 2009 and 2012. Then she joined the faculty in the Food Science Department at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst as an Assistant Professor in 2012. Dr. He’s major research focus is to develop and apply the most advanced and innovative analytical techniques to help solve critical

2016 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in NMR

Dr. Gary Martin is a Senior Principal Scientist in the Merck Research Laboratories in Rahway, New Jersey.  He holds a B.S. in Pharmacy from the University of Pittsburgh (1972) and a Ph.D. in Medicinal Chemistry/Pharmaceutical Sciences from the University of Kentucky (1976).  He was a Professor of Medicinal Chemistry at the University of Houston where he was also the director of the UH NMR Facility before moving to the pharmaceutical industry in 1989. He serves on the editorial advisory boards

Page 3 of 1012345...10...Last »