Author Archives: askeas

2015 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Near-Infrared

Benoît Igne received his Bachelor and Master degrees in Agricultural engineering at Ecole d’Ingénieur de Purpan, in Toulouse, France. He continued his academic career at Iowa State University in Ames Iowa, USA, where he obtained a Ph.D. in Agricultural Engineering in 2009 under the direction of Dr. Charles R. Hurburgh, Jr. Benoît joined Duquesne University, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA, as a post-doctoral student and subsequently a program coordinator in the Duquesne Center for Pharmaceutical Technology. In these positions, he worked to

2015 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Chemometrics

Peter D. Wentzell is a Professor of Chemistry at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.  He obtained his B.Sc. in Chemistry from Dalhousie University in 1982 and his Ph.D. in Analytical Chemistry from Michigan State University (East Lansing, MI) in 1987, working under the direction of Prof. Stanley Crouch.  He then worked as a Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (Canada) Post-doctoral Fellow with Dr. Adrian Wade at the University of British Columbia (Vancouver, BC, Canada) before taking up

2015 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in NMR

Timothy A. Cross is the Earl Frieden Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry at Florida State University and he is the NMR and MRI Program Director at the National High Magnetic Field Lab in Tallahassee, Florida. He received his B.S. degree from Trinity College, Hartford, CT in 1976 and Ph.D. from the Department of Chemistry at the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia in 1981 working with Prof. Stanley Opella on bacteriophage protein structure with solution NMR spectroscopy. He stayed in Philadelphia for

2015 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Mass Spectrometry

Emile A. Schweikert is Professor of Chemistry at Texas A&M University and Director of the University’s Center for Chemical Characterization & Analysis. His research in secondary ion mass spectrometry, SIMS, focuses on advancing the fundamentals of the technique and on innovations in instrumentation and methodology. He has pioneered the bombardment of surfaces with clusters instead of atomic ions and demonstrated SIMS performance enhanced by several orders of magnitude. He has since shown that nanoparticles e.g. C60, Au400 impacting at hypervelocity

Webinar on Elemental Impurities

Image of Webinar 3D

NEW!! EAS is offering a live webinar on April 8th on Elemental Impurities Compliance for the Pharmaceutical Industry. EAS has partnered with Pharma Webinars (a division of the Tungsten Shield Group) to bring new online professional training to the analytical science community. This two hour webinar is not pre-recorded but live and interactive. There will be time for questions after the presentation. Group rate available; see website for pricing. Our next webinar is: Elemental Impurities Compliance for the Pharmaceutical Industry: An Overview of the New Compendial Requirements and Analytical

In Memoriam: Dr. Vincent Venturella

It is with great sadness that I have to report the death of long time member, and past president of EAS, Dr. Vincent Venturella, on Dec. 16, 2014, at the age of 84. Vince was active with the EAS until the end, and he and his wife, Mary Lou, rarely missed the symposium. He had held many positions on committees over the years, including serving as President in 1993. Vince also taught short courses on cGMPs and method validation at

Thank You

On behalf of the EAS Governing Board, I want to thank the attendees, exhibitors, presenters, instructors, sponsors, and volunteers of the 53rd Eastern Analytical Symposium and Exposition.  The 2014 Symposium was attended by over 2400 scientists whose enthusiasm and participation helped to make this event a great success.  EAS is here to serve the analytical community and provide a venue for cross-disciplinary knowledge sharing and career development.    Follow us on LinkedIn and Facebook and share your experiences and photos of the 2014

2014 Press Release

The 53rd annual meeting of the Eastern Analytical Symposium will be held on November 17-19, 2014 at the Garden State Exhibit Center and hotel complex in Somerset, New Jersey. EAS provides professional scientists and students continuing education in the analytical and allied sciences through the presentation of technical papers, seminars, and short courses. In addition, an exposition of laboratory instruments, supplies, and services related to these sciences takes place concurrent with the symposium. The technical program at EAS continuously demonstrates

Microscopy and the Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Microscopy was in the news this week. The 2014 Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded to Eric Betzig, of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute in Virginia, Stefan W. Hell of the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Germany and William E. Moerner of Stanford University in California for developing new microscopic techniques that enable the observation of single molecules inside living cells. The impact of their discoveries in biology and medicine is considerable. Any Nobel Prize awarded for research

Tribute to Hal Ferrari

The Eastern Analytical Symposium family is deeply saddened by the recent death of Hal Ferrari, who was the longest serving member and a past president of the organization. At this time of grief, we wanted to republish the tribute that was published in last year’s symposium final program:  We would like to dedicate the 2013 symposium to one of the former Presidents, Hal Ferrari, to mark his 50 years of service to EAS.  Hal’s association with EAS began in 1963,

Page 5 of 9« First...34567...Last »