Author Archives: askeas

Registration is Open

It’s not too late to register!On-site registration is available 8am-4pm, Nov. 18 – Nov. 20at the Garden State Exhibit Center, Somerset, NJ Registration Fees Before Oct. 15 After Oct. 15 Full Conferee $145.00 $195.00 Expo Only $75.00 $75.00 Full-Time Student $25.00 $25.00 High School Student w/ Seminar $0.00 $0.00 Half-Day Short Course* $300.00 $500.00 One-Day Short Course* $550.00 $750.00 Two-Day Short Course* $750.00 $1100.00  *Please note you must be registered as a Full Conferee in order to take a Short Course.  

Invited Speaker Travel Reimbursement Guidelines

As an invited speaker, EAS may defray a portion of the reasonable costs associated with your travel to the conference.  If you are entitled to re-imbursement from your place of employment, please solicit funding through them and not EAS, which is a nonprofit volunteer organization. Allocation of the available funds for each invited paper session is at the discretion of the session chair. If you have any questions, please contact the chair of your session. In general, you should note

NY Section of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy Gold Medal Award

Session Date: Monday, November 18, in the morning session.Presentation Title:  Synchrotron X-Ray Spectroscopy — How 10 Orders of Magnitude Makes Hard Things Easy Biography:Stephen Cramer fell in love with chemistry in second grade, when he received his first Gilbert chemistry set and watched Mr. Wizard on TV.  In the early 70’s, he became interested in chemical spectroscopy while working on optical absorption and luminescence with William Moomaw at Williams College and with Thomas Krugh at the University of Rochester. His

American Microchemical Society Benedetti-Pichler Award

Session Date:  Monday, November 18, in the morning sessionPresentation Title:   Punctuated Microgradients for Bioanalysis Biography: Dr. Mark A. Hayes holds an Associate Professorship in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at Arizona State University, where he serves as an active researcher, mentor, teacher and colleague. His academic career has produced significant results across several disciplines within the analytical and physical chemistry community that includes aspects of engineering, physics, biology and medicine. While contributing to the knowledge base, Mark has energetically

2013 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in the Fields of Analytical Chemistry

Plenary Lecture:  there will be a special Fields Award presentation on Monday, November 18 at 4:30pm in the Double Tree Grand Ballroom.  All registered attendees are welcome to attend.Presentation Title:  When Someone Says “Everybody Knows That …” Stop Listening! Adventures in Basic and Translational Research Sponsored by Bristol-Myers Squibb Biography:Professor Irving W Wainer is an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Anesthesiology, Cooper Medical School of Rowan University and Senior Investigator in the Laboratory of Clinical Investigation at the National

Conference Report – Bioanalysis

Energized bioanalytical solutions at the 2012 Eastern Analytical Symposium & Exposition Authors Ang Liu and Anne-Francoise AubryBioanalysis, Vol. 5, No. 19, October 2013: 2341-2344 The 51st Eastern Analytical Symposium (EAS) and Exposition was held at the Garden State Exhibit Center in Somerset NJ, USA, from 12–15 November 2012, with a theme of ‘Energizing Analytical Solutions’. This conference attracted and energized a diverse group of attendees, presenters, and exhibitors, whose expertise covered the broad topics of analysis in various fields and

2013 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Nuclear Magnetic Resonance

Session Date:  Wednesday, November 20, in the afternoon sessionPresentation Title:  NMR in Structural Biology: Synergy of Solid- and Solution-State Approaches  Sponsored by Bruker Biospin and New Era Enterprises Biography:  Dennis Torchia received his respective B.A. and Ph.D. degrees in physics from the University of California, Riverside and Yale University.  Following postdoctoral training in biophysics at the Harvard Medical School, with Elkan Blout, he began NMR work at Bell Laboratories, with Frank Bovey. In 1971, Dr. Torchia joined the staff of

2013 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in Separation Sciences

Session Date:  Tuesday, November 19, in the morning sessionPresentation Title:  Orthogonal Separations  Sponsored by Agilent Technologies Biography: Mark R. Schure received his undergraduate education at Northeastern University and his Ph.D. in atmospheric chemistry from Colorado State University. Following two years of post-doctoral study at the University of Utah with Prof. J. C. Giddings, he entered industry in the science group at Digital Equipment Corporation in Marlborough, Massachusetts in 1984. In 1989, Dr. Schure moved to the Computational Chemistry group at

Page 9 of 10« First...678910