2019 EAS Award for Outstanding Achievements in the Fields of Analytical Chemistry

Joel M. Harris is Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at the University of Utah, where he also holds an adjunct appointment in the Department of Bioengineering.  Harris earned a B.S. from Duke University in 1972 with Charles Lochmüller and his Ph.D. from Purdue University with Fred Lytle in 1976, following which he joined the faculty of the University of Utah. Harris’s research has focused on analytical chemistry and spectro­scopic studies of low concentrations of molecules in liquids and at liquid-solid interfaces.  He and his students have advanced new concepts in photothermal spectroscopy, methods to analyze multi­dimensional spectroscopic data, Raman spectroscopy of transient species and interfaces, and quantita­tive analysis of interfacial molecular populations by imaging and counting individual fluorescent molecules. They have applied these methods to investigate the kinetics and energetics of excited-states and reactive-intermediates, and molecular transport, adsorption, and binding kinetics that govern separations and analysis at liquid-solid interfaces.

Harris is Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He is also Fellow and Honorary Member of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy.  For 12 years, Harris served as Editor-in-Chief of Applied Spectroscopy. He is the recipient of an Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship, the Coblentz Award in Molecular Spectro­scopy, the University of Utah Distinguished Research Award, the ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Award in Chemical Instrumentation, the SAS New York Section Gold Medal Award in Spectroscopy, the Pittsburgh Analytical Chemistry Award, the University of Utah Robert W. Parry Teaching Award, the University of Utah Distinguished Teaching Award, the Distinguished Service Award of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy, the Benedetti-Pichler Award in Micro­chemistry, the Bomem-Michelson Award of the Coblentz Society, the Utah Governor’s Medal in Science and Technology, and the ACS Award in Analytical Chemistry.