2019 Student Research Awards

Sponsored by Merck & Co.

EAS continues to actively support a Student Research Awards program to recognize students involved in research in the broad field of analytical chemistry. We have expanded the Student Research Awards to include both graduate and undergraduate students. In the spring of each year, we encourage professors to identify undergraduate Juniors in college and graduate students who demonstrate special talent in research. Nomination criteria include excellent grades, appraisals of how the students handle their investigations, their approach and how they resolve problems and publicly disseminate their work.  For more information on nominating a student, click here.

In 2019, four undergraduates and four graduate students have been selected based on these criteria to receive EAS Student Research Awards. The following outstanding students have been chosen from a very worthy field of candidates:


Phillip Charles
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Nominated by Prof. K V Lakshmi

Jessica Hellinger
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Nominated by Prof. Jacob Shelley

Samuel Foster
Rowan University
Nominated by Prof. James Grinias

Samantha Mehnert
West Virginia University
Nominated by Prof. Glen Jackson


Michael Apsokardu 
 University of Delaware
Nominated by Prof. Murray Johnston

Sarah Belh 
City University of New York – Brooklyn College
Nominated by Prof. Alexander Greer

Jacob Lindale
Duke University
Nominated by Prof. Warren S. Warren

Seth Kenkel 
University of Illinois
Nominated by Prof. Rohit Bhargava

 The Governing Board of the 2019 EAS congratulates
these awardees for their outstanding achievements.

 The Student Awardees’ posters will be presented on Tuesday, November 19, in the Poster Area from 12:15pm – 1:15pm